New Norfolk County

Two years after creating the first counties in 1634, the House of Burgesses took that portion of Elizabeth City County south of the James River and created New Norfolk County.

One year later in 1637, the House of Burgesses divided New Norfolk County into Upper Norfolk County and Lower Norfolk County, reflecting the population growth in the region as well as the difficulty of travel in reaching the courthouse from over such a large area.

Charles I is credited with naming New Norfolk County.

"Missing" Counties of Virginia
Virginia Counties
Virginia Places