Lower Norfolk County

In 1637, the House of Burgesses divided New Norfolk County into Upper Norfolk County and Lower Norfolk County.

There was no "Upper Norfolk County" in the colony after 1646 - it was renamed Nansemond County. Lower Norfolk County was renamed to just Norfolk County in 1691. [Norfolk County also disappeared in 1963, when it became part of the City of Chesapeake.]

"Missing" Counties of Virginia
Virginia Counties
Virginia Places